Skip to content

9th Kraków Music Autumn

This is the ninth time, the Kraków Music Autumn is being presented to music lovers at the Kraków Philharmonic, thanks to the Philharmonic itself and the Porta Musicae Artistic Association.

This year’s instalment of the festival offers five concerts performed by Cracow Golden Quintet, Duo Fortecello, Włodzimierz Spodymek and Barbara Hortyńska, Volodja Balzalorsky and Aleksandar Serdar, as well as Meccore String Quartet. When planning the program of the ninth edition of the festival, the organisers decided to present for the first time ensembles that had not been present at the festival so far. Therefore, this year you will be able to listen to a wind quintet and a saxophone duo with a piano. These ensembles will be presented in the context of the most famous chamber formations: string quartet and violin and cello duets with piano. There will also be premieres and new music pieces – for the first time, arrangements of Lutosławski and Szymanowski’s works written especially for the Cracow Golden Quintet will be presented to the listeners; we will also hear the world premiere of a piece by Franciszek Araszkiewicz for cello and piano, commissioned and written as part of the National Institute of Music and Dance program „Composing Commissions”. The festival’s program also includes music by Wojciech Kilar, Karol Szymanowski, Johannes Brahms, Robert Schumann, Astor Piazzolla and Krzysztof Penderecki.

16 October 2022, 6pm
Cracow Golden Quintet
Natalia Jarząbek – flute
Damian Świst – oboe
Michał Poniżnik – clarinet (guest performance)
Małgorzata Wygoda – bassoon
Konrad Gołda – horn
Karol Szymanowski Harnasie Op. 55 for wind quintet (arr. Paweł Reiss, world premiere)
Witold Lutosławski Melodie ludowe for wind quintet (arr. Paweł Reiss, world premiere)
Wojciech Kilar Kwintet for wind instruments

17 October 2022, 7:30pm
Duo ForteCello
Anna Mikulska-Argenty – cello
Philippe Argenty – piano
Antonin Dvořák Klid Op. 68 No. 5
Gaspar Cassadó Sonata
Bohuslav Martinů Variations on the Slovakian Theme  H. 378
Astor Piazzolla Milonga del Ángel, La Muerte del Ángel, Resurrección del Ángel
Franciszek Araszkiewicz Grey Ganglion Depths for cello and piano (world premiere) *
Camile Saint-Saëns Danse macabre Op. 40

18 October 2022, 7:30pm
Włodzimierz Spodymek
– saxophone
Barbara Hortyńska – piano
Jacques Ibert Concertino da camera for alto saxophone and piano
Barry Cockcroft Melbourne sonata for saxophone sopranowy and piano
Michał Grabowski LAID Island for alto saxophone and piano
Darius Milhaud Scaramouche  Op. 165c for alto saxophone and piano
Pedro Iturralde Pequeña Czarda for alto saxophone and piano

19 October 2022, 7:30pm
Volodja Balzalorsky
– violin
Aleksandar Serdar – piano
Robert Schumann Three Romances Op. 94
Johannes Brahms Sonata in G majorOp. 78
Witold Lutosławski Recitativo e Arioso
César Franck Sonata in A major

21 October 2022, 7:30pm
Meccore String Quartet
Wojciech Koprowski – violin
Aleksandra Maria Steczkowska – violin (guest performance)
Michał Bryła – viola
Marcin Mączyński – cello
Krzysztof Penderecki String Quartet No. 3 “Leaves of an Unwritten Diary”
Béla Bartók String Quartet No. 1 in A minor Sz. 40
Robert Schumann String Quartet No. 1 in A minor Op. 41

Comments are closed.